Harry Potter And The Cursed Child Review (No Spoilers)

Title: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child 

Release Date: 2016

Author: JK Rowling

Rating: 3.5/5 stars 

I know there’s been a lot of negative opinions flowing around about this book, which is fine, but honestly I think they’re a bit harsh.

Yes, there are a lot of plot holes and some silly bits, HOWEVER, you have to think of it as a play, because that’s what it is! And if you read the stage directions and picture what it would look like on stage, I think it would be amazing.

I definitely want to go and see the play, and I did enjoy reading this book, a lot. 

I liked the story, I like getting to know these different characters (Scorpious I love you) and I had a major fangirl over reading about older Harry, Ron and Hermione.

I wasn’t sure that I would enjoy it as much because it’s a script, however, that didn’t impact on my reading experience at all and I actually quite liked it! I read it quicker, which if you’re like me and have loads of books on your TBR pile, is always a good thing. 

I really enjoyed this book and if you haven’t read it because you’re worried about not liking it, just give it a go! I personally don’t think you’ll regret it.

This book made me want to see the play and the cover is very pretty.

10/10 for making me all nostalgic and emotional.

Ps. The Cedric storyline was a very clever idea and I’m glad we got to read more about that, it made him feel a bit less like a ‘spare part’. 

Leave a Reply

